Public Services




Key Stage 4 –

BTEC First Award in Public Services

At Key Stage 4 learners have the option to study Public Services, which offers an insight into the breadth of careers in this sector, as well as sharpening their skills to prepare for employment or further study. It covers everything from how the Fire Service operates, to what it’s like to be in the Army, work for a charity, or the skills you need to be a Local Authority Housing Officer.

Public Services BTEC

In Year 10 and 11 students are given a range of opportunities to develop their knowledge, understanding and application of the following units:

  1. The role and work of the public services
  2. Working skills in the public service sector
  3. Employment in the various public services
  4. Public services in community protection
  5. Health, fitness and lifestyle for the public services

Units 1 and 2 are core units, but students must choose which two out of the other three units they would like to study.

Students learn about the Emergency Services, Armed Services, the UK Government, Local Authorities, and voluntary (or ‘third sector’) services, such as charitable organisations and those which support the social or health services in the UK.

Learning inside the classroom is supported by trips and visits to and from the various public services found locally.

BTECs are vocationally related qualifications, where learners develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context. Additionally, they are popular and effective because they engage learners to take responsibility for their own learning and to develop skills that are essential for the modern-day workplace. These skills include: team working; working from a prescribed brief; working to deadlines; presenting information effectively; and accurately completing administrative tasks and processes. BTEC Firsts motivate learners, and open doors to progression into further study and responsibility within the workplace.